Completing the Move

I’m heading back to Maine on a red-eye a week from tomorrow for two weeks to tear down my office, clean out the barn, and be onsite for the packers, and the moving crew. I haven’t been able to get back to see Vicki and the Huskies since the middle of June (!) so despite the fact that there’s a lot of heavy work in front of me, I’m really looking forward to getting back East and seeing them and the rest of the gang from Yarmouth.

Vicki has been coordinating with the relocation people while I’ve largely been observing this process via e-mail cc’s. It’s a godsend to have a super organized spouse because I honestly don’t think I can handle much more right now. Between trying to get productive at work, clearing trees out of the line of sight to the satellite (that I’m using right now), watering the plants that have been without rain for months, and attempting to remotely triage/fix a series of network problems back in Maine, I’m pretty much tapped out by the end of the day. And then there’s the issue of construction defects at the new house here in Duvall – a situation that’s cost me a lot of time and aggravation over the past two months… More on that another time. Actually – I don’t even want to talk about it. I just want some stuff fixed so that life and return to "normal".

If everything goes according to plan, the moving van full of all of our belongings will leave Yarmouth and head West before I have to return back to work in September. Vicki and the dogs will follow shortly thereafter. It’s bound to be rather sad – we’ve become very attached to our beautiful house in Yarmouth and made a lot of very good friends there. However, there’s no doubt in my mind that we’ll stay in touch. In fact, there’s talk of the Yarmouth crew coming out here to Washington over New Years.

About Chris Russell

http://www.chrisrussell.net
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this article

