Live Spaces and Cookies

Imagine my annoyance to find that I need to relax my IE 7 cookie security in order to log into Windows Live Spaces.  
 
IE7 Privacy was: High
 
– Blocks all cookies from websites that do not have a compact privacy policy
– Blocks cookies that save information that can be used to contact you without your explicit consent
 
Okay – I don’t know what a compact privacy policy is… But whatever. The second item isn’t really clear to me either. But again, whatever. I don’t want people to contact me without my consent so don’t allow it. But this doesn’t work with Windows Live Spaces. You can’t log in unless you relax the restrictions on cookies.
 
IE Private now: Medium
 
– Blocks third-party cookies that do not have a compact privacy policy
– Blocks third-party cookies that save information that can be used to contact you without your explicit consent
– Blocks first-party cookies that save information that can be used to contact you without your implicit consent
 
So now I can log into Windows Live Spaces. Why can’t I log in with cookie security set to High? Anyone?
About Chris Russell

http://www.chrisrussell.net
This entry was posted in Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Live Spaces and Cookies

  1. John says:

    I believe the problem is with Windows Live Spaces lack of P3P compact privacy policy. You can send a feedback about that to Windows Live team. If you want to know what is a compact privacy policy, you can read Privacy in IE article on MSDN.
     
    Still, I can hardly imagine your annoyance! You see, Cookies are privacy concerns not security issues! (Otherwise they\’d have been in the Security tab of IE.) …and they pose a very minuscule privacy concern. Practically, if you bring your Cookie Privacy slider all the way up, you will receive ads that you don\’t like but if you bring that slider all the way down, you see ads that you actually like! Well, it\’s not bad, is it?
     
    Personally, I\’m very sensitive about my security but I don\’t believe in cookies being more dangerous that a glass of brandy. (and a glass of brandy is very dangerous!) So, I\’d set my Cookie settings to lowest possible, if I were you.

Comment on this article

