What Most Schools Don’t Teach (video link)

^— I love this video. It speaks to me…

I’m dating myself here for sure but my very first program was written on an HP-91 in 1976.

HP-91

HP-91

This was cool but I didn’t really get hooked until playing Adventure on a PDP-8 my parent’s next door neighbors had set up in their living room. Four roommates lived next door to us and they all worked for Dave Cutler at DEC (two of them I think were hardware guys working on the VAX, the other two software guys working on VMS). In exchange for walking their dog, they let me play occasionally.

102687295_a833d5faa9_z

Later Dad came home with a Z-80 powered Northstar Horizon II running CP/M. They just don’t make computers with wooden covers these days 🙂

Northstar Horizon Z-80 PC running CP/M (~1978)

Northstar Horizon Z-80 PC running CP/M (~1978)

Dad pulled a shrewd move: on the same day he brought home the Northstar, he took our TV to the dump and gave it away.

Later I had the privilege of attending Saint Mark’s School in Southborough, MA where my love of computers consumed me: Edson De Castro’s daughter was in my class and although he was the chairman of Data General, he donated a brand new DEC PDP-11/23+PLUS to the school and if I wasn’t in class, I was in the computer room. It was typical to see me walking through the center of Southborough in the early 1980’s proudly carrying my RL02 disk 🙂

DEC PDP11-23+

DEC PDP11-23+

I don’t think there have been too many days since then that I haven’t spent some portion of a day in front of computer typing. Not all addictions are bad 🙂

About Chris Russell

http://www.chrisrussell.net
This entry was posted in Compute, Software. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this article

