BBC Musical Perception Test

A friend from the UK forwarded a link to an online musical perception test produced by the BBC in cooperation with some UK researchers. It was really interesting. The hardest part of the test for me was the “music memory” test.

To test your music memory, a 5 to 15-second melody is played on the piano. After a delay of several seconds, the melody is re-played only transposed to another key. You need to determine if it’s a perfect transposition, or if the second melody contained differences in pitch, or timing.

BBC Lab UK – How Musical Are You? https://www.bbc.co.uk/labuk/experiments/musicality/

My musical perception score

My musical perception score

Overall, I scored lower in the social creativity part of the test as I do not regularly compose (write code instead). They got the “Emotional Connection” score wrong; no question I’m emotionally connected to music.

My scores overall

My scores overall

About Chris Russell

http://www.chrisrussell.net
This entry was posted in Interests, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment on this article

